Motion to Oust Speaker Johnson Fails 359 to 43

The House voted tonight to kill Rep. Marjorie Taylor Greene’s (R-GA) effort to oust Speaker Mike Johnson (R-LA).

On a vote of 359 to 43, Johnson will retain his position as Speaker. 11 Republicans and 32 Democrats voted against the motion to table Greene’s “motion to vacate.”

Here are the 11 Republicans who voted against Johnson:

Biggs (AZ)
Burlison (MO)
Crane (AZ)
Davidson (OH)
Gosar (AZ)
Greene (GA)
Massie (KY)
Mooney (WV)
Moore (AL)
Roy (TX)
Spartz (IN)

Johnson spoke with reporters afterward and said,

“I want to say that I appreciate the show of confidence for my colleagues to defeat this misguided effort.”


Democrat House Minority Leader Hakeem Jeffries’s response to the failed effort to get Johnson out as Speaker was,

“People. Over. Politics.”


Rep. Thomas Massie (R-KY), who backed Greene’s effort to oust Johnson, said on X that he opposed the ouster of Speaker Kevin McCarthy (R-CA) but said not taking Johnson out as Speaker was an even bigger mistake. Here is Massie’s full post:

“Vacating Kevin McCarthy was a huge mistake. Every Democrat voted to vacate him because he fought them tooth and nail.

Keeping Mike Johnson is an even bigger mistake. An overwhelming majority of democrats voted to keep him because he’s given them everything they want.”


Greene said that another motion to vacate could come up again in the future. She also posted on X afterward, stating,

“Tonight, you saw the Uniparty in action.

Nancy Pelosi, Hakeem Jeffries, and the rest of the Democrats saved Mike Johnson.”


Did you support Green’s motion to vacate?

Let us know in the comments below.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *