Congress News

House Votes 404 to 14 to Condemn Iran’s Attack on Israel

The House voted 404 to 14 to condemn the Iranian attack on Israel.

13 Democrats and 1 Republican voted against the measure. The resolution was filed as H. Res. 1143 and can be read in full here.

The resolution states, in part,

“Resolved, That the House of Representatives—

(1) condemns Iran’s unprecedented drone and missile attack on Israel;

(2) reaffirms and supports Israel’s right to self-defense;

(3) stands with Israel as it defends itself against Iran’s attack and seeks to re-establish deterrence against Iran and its proxies;

(4) fully supports Israel’s right to respond to this aggression through military, diplomatic, economic, and other necessary means;

(5) calls on all countries to unequivocally condemn Iran’s attack on Israel;

(6) commends the United States military, the United Kingdom, France, and Jordan for intercepting Iranian missiles and drones and thereby limiting the damage from this unprecedented attack on Israel;

(7) reaffirms the United States commitment to Israel’s security, including through security assistance and defense sales;

(8) urges full enforcement of United States sanctions and export controls against Iran to impede Iran’s nuclear program, missile and drone development, and funding of terrorist groups and proxies, including Hezbollah, Hamas and Palestine Islamic Jihad, the Houthis, and militias in Iraq and Syria; and

(9) stands ready to assist Israel with emergency resupply and other security, diplomatic, and intelligence support.”


Here are the 13 Democrats who voted against the resolution:

Rep. Greg Casar (D-TX)
Rep. Pramila Jayapal (D-WA)
Rep. Jonathan Jackson (D-IL)
Rep. Barbara Lee (D-CA)
Rep. Summer Lee (D-PA)
Rep. Alexandria Ocasio-Cortez (D-NY)
Rep. Ilham Omar (D-MN)
Rep. Ayanna Pressley (D-MA)
Rep. Delia Ramirez (D-IL)
Rep. Rashida Tlaib (D-MI)

The lone Republican who voted against the measure was Rep. Thomas Massie (R-KY).

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *